Jump the Gap | Roca International Design Contest

Jump the Gap 6th Roca International Design Contest

Bathroom design company Roca is issuing a final call for entries to the 6th edition of the international design contest Jump the Gap which closes later this month.

Aimed at students and young designers and architects under the age of 35, and with a total prize fund of €15,000, the contest provides an international platform for a new generation of designers to demonstrate their talent and offer a vision for the the future by presenting new and sustainable bathroom design concepts.

Recognising that 50% of the products we will use in ten years time have not yet been designed or manufactured, Roca are inviting submissions from designers who can bring forth their vision of conceptually innovative bathroom products and solutions: new products, new spaces and/or new uses and functions.

There are two categories - one aimed at students, the other at young professionals - with the winning project from each category receiving a prize of €6,000.

As sustainability is one of the most important principles of bathroom design, and integral to the Roca philosophy, the We Are Water Foundation will additionally be recognisng designs that best support their objective to create a new culture for water by awarding a further prize of €3,000 for the best sustainable design.

Now in its 6th edition, the contest is judged by a jury of renowned architects and designers which has in previous years included John Pawson and Ron Arad. The 2015 jury will include Tom Dyckhoff, journalist, architecture critic and presenter of the Great Interior Design Challenge on BBC2.


The 5th edition contest attracted 518 project submissions from 102 countries with 'Still You', a modern ergonomic toilet adapted for elderly people with physical difficulties of limited mobility, being judged the winning entry. Other previous winners include a shower unit that can be used in the garden and a 'breathing bathtub' which is energy and water efficient.

Applications for the 6th edition must be submitted before 25th February 2014.

Further information at www.jumpthegap.net

*      *      *

Posted in collaboration with Roca.